© Abingdon Operatic Society 2017

Email: webmaster@abingdonoperatic.co.uk

President: Julie Mayhew-Archer

Vice-President: Mike Badcock

Chairman: Joy Skeels

Vice-Chairman: Iain Launchbury

Secretary: Nigel Winter

Treasurer: Vaughan Billings

Minutes Secretary: Linda Harris

Committee Members - Paul Bruce, Barry Greenaway, Tara Hunter,

Sarah Walters, Frankie Wilson

Contact the AOS Committee at committee@abingdonoperatic.co.uk

Abingdon Operatic Society is registered charity number: 273149.

Annie packs ‘em in!

It’s always nice to play to full houses and Annie has certainly provided these for us. Over the six performances we squeezed into the week of 18 - 22 April 2017, we performed the show in front of more than 2000 members of our community. A large part of our charitable objectives is to bring musical entertainment to the community of Abingdon, so it’s particularly pleasing to feel that we’re succeeding in this.

It’s also great that we’re constantly welcoming new members to our audience and we love it when they leave comments like this on our Facebook page:

“My very first show last night and it won't be my last. Very, very impressed with the professionalism… A first class show all round. Thank you for a wonderful evenings entertainment!!” Nigel.

Sounds like he had as much fun as we did!!

AOS uses its Facebook page as the main vehicle for news and updates, for members, friends and audience. Please Like Us to be kept in the loop!

AOS scoops NODA District awards for Barnum

At the NODA Awards on Sunday 4th June 2017, Director Joy Skeels and Choreographer Kerry Callaghan accepted the District 12 certificate for ‘Best Musical’ and the certificate for ‘Best Male in a Musical’, awarded to Duncan Blagrove, for our October 2016 production of Barnum.

Recognition and awards are always a nice surprise, so we’re all very proud of this result.

AOS Committee 2016 - 17

AOS chairman: Joy Skeels